Is this a aculeatus?

Discussion in 'ID Requests' started by luigi, Jan 31, 2008.

1. luigi

luigi Pygmy Octopus Registered

Hi! I'm very new to octos(10 days) since I was convinced to bring this guy home from the lfs. I know absolutely very little about these guys, but (Nubbin) did eat out of my hand tonight!

Attached Files:

2. luigi

Is this an aculeatus?

I forgot to mention the tag on the bag from the supplier said"Indian Ocean Octopus"

3. Mikewise

Mikewise GPO Registered

4. SandV

SandV Wonderpus Registered

how long is his mantle... how long are his legs

5. luigi

aculeatus?

They do look like twins,dont they? Nubbin has many or the same colors on his legs when he darkens.

6. luigi

Aculeatus?

His mantle is about 2 1/2" and his legs are around 7-8" when he is cruising or climbing.

7. monty

monty Colossal Squid Staff Member Supporter

:welcome: Luigi and Nubbin... I'm voting aculeatus, but I suggest waiting for Roy or Mucktopus to chime in before being convinced...

8. luigi

Thanks for your input! I'm new with these guys, but relly enjoying him/her, when he comes out!

9. shipposhack

shipposhack Haliphron Atlanticus Registered

It looks similar to A. Aculeatus, but there are some things about it that strike me wrong. Roy or Mucktopus will be able to give a definitive answer, as Monty said. There is no way that is a bimac :), especially from IO.

10. daddysquoc

daddysquoc Wonderpus Registered

do you ever see him "walk?" if so he's probably an aculeatus, since they do that bipedal thing

11. luigi

I have'nt actually seen him walk, but last night he did just stand on like 3 legs. he stood very still and just watched me. It looked like he was trying to imitate a stick or something. We had a small accident about 10 days ago, in which he lost a leg. I thought we were both going to die! As of yesterday, he seems to have forgiven me, and I have noticed a new leg, about 1/3" starting to grow back!

12. DWhatley

DWhatley Cthulhu Staff Member Moderator