Possible ID? Bad photos though :(

Discussion in 'ID Requests' started by AndreasN, Oct 29, 2010.

1. AndreasN

AndreasN Larval Mass Registered

Hi guys and gals :) I am very very very new to this considering I joined about 10 mins ago :grin:

Basically I work at an aquatics center and we got an Octopus in....I thought it was absolutely amazing! So I got home and started researching and it seems difficult but possible as long as I am willing to be dedicated, before I go ahead and make a BAD mistake and harm the creature (which I would hate tod do! :sad: ) I would very much like an ID on this amazing creature and the level of difficulty, thanks :)

Andreas

[​IMG][/IMG]

[​IMG][/IMG]

[​IMG]

2. CaptFish

CaptFish Colossal Squid Staff Member Moderator

:welcome: to TONMO

Hard to say. Do you know where the animal was originally caught?
    It looks like an A. Aculeatus from Indonesia. I say this due to the ratio or arm length length to mantle length, and a little because of color, but color is the worst way to ID octopuses.

3. AndreasN

Hey :)

Erm I'm not 100% sure, I'm going to ask the marine guy who got it on sunday :)
    If it is in fact the one you are thinking of do they get big? are they difficult to care for?

4. CaptFish

CaptFish Colossal Squid Staff Member Moderator

In my opinion all octopuses pretty much require the same care it just comes down to how much they eat. As for size A.Aculeatus average size is a mantle(body) length of 3cm(~1.25") and a arm length of 18cm(~7") Your seems to be about full size. I am sad to say that on average these guys only live about two months on average in captivity. Octopuses only live about a year and these guys are usually at the end of their life by the time they get to hobbyists.

5. AndreasN

Hmm 2 months really? :\ that's a shame actually, really cool little thing though

6. DWhatley

DWhatley Cthulhu Staff Member Moderator