I’ve been working on a graphic novel about a society of intelligent octopus. Welcome to Octopolis!

Hey everyone, I'd like to share with you all the comic I've been working on for the past two years! Since this is the premiere community of octopus lovers, I thought you'd appreciate the subject more than most! Here's the pitch:

Are you tired of dystopian post-apocalypses in your comics? Then you may enjoy Octopolis, a refreshingly non-dystopian post-apocalypse comic. What sets this story apart? It’s simple: all the humans are dead!

That’s right, everything’s a lot better on planet Earth, now that it’s kicked the human habit. Of course, things can’t stay peaceful forever. There’s a new intelligent species stirring up trouble: the octopus.

Octopolis is set in a fictional future where humans drove themselves into extinction and intelligent octopus evolved in their wake. They’ve build their own society in the coral-encrusted ruins of our sunken cities. Perhaps these new stewards of the sea will do a better job than the last ones. After all, they have 9x the brain power!

Intro to Octopolis_1.png

The Plot

Octopolis follows the adventures of one particularly precocious octopus: Kurita, a young female octopus on the cusp of adulthood. She lives with her family on the edge of the Great Kelp Forest. Her family makes their living cultivating kelp for textiles and for their buoyant pods (useful floatation devices).

1713841212777.png

Kurita and her dads getting into an argument.

Kurita lost two of her arms in a childhood accident. Ever since they regenerated, they seem to have minds of their own. Of course, they literally do! Kurita loves her ‘younger’ arms and considers them the source of her creative ideas, but they tend to get her into trouble more often than not.

Like any octopus, Kurita is curious. She dreams of making her fortune as a philosopher in the great metropolis of Polyps. She’s about to get her wish, and more than she ever bargained for!

Theme