Rinsing Sand with Tap Water

Discussion in 'Tank Talk' started by suzie9mm, Feb 7, 2013.

1. suzie9mm

suzie9mm Cuttlefish Registered

Hello!

I've been stalking this site for a couple years now, I am about to start a thread with my journey to setting up my fish tank for an Octopus, but I have an immediate question I wasn't sure about. I am using some store bought regular sand for the tank. More specific I am using Quikrete Play sand. I was just about to begin the process of rinsing the sand and it struck me I would be rinsing it with my hose outside.

Has anyone used regular sand like this? And should I just take my time and rinse and clean it with RO water instead of using tap water? Or would it be safe to rinse with tap water? I know it may sound like a silly question, but I don't want to ruin everything because I rinsed the sand with water that could contaminate the tank with metals. Thanks guys!

2. CaptFish

CaptFish Colossal Squid Staff Member Moderator

It's not live sand so i don't see an issue with rinsing it with a hose, by the time the tank is full of saltwater and cycled i don't think it will matter. I would suggest using pool filter sand instead of play sand, apparently, and this is just what i have read, the play sand is easily stirred up and makes the tank water cloudy very easily due to how fine the sand is. pool filter sand is more course and does not make the tank cloudy when disturbed.

3. DWhatley

DWhatley Cthulhu Staff Member Moderator

I've read about people using regular sand (vs aquarium specific) but never tried it as I prefer something that will help with the PH buffering (like argonite). I DO rinse my sand in tap (if it is not live sand, something I don't usually buy) but then I final rinse with either salt or RO/DI (depending on what I am doing with it, for a new tank, I would just use the RO/DI but for an active one, the saltwater).

4. suzie9mm

suzie9mm Cuttlefish Registered