ph Level

Discussion in 'Octopus Care' started by Faaborg, May 20, 2008.

  1. Faaborg

    Faaborg O. bimaculoides Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you all test your PH regularly. I think it is suppost to be around 8. Mine is at 6.5. How can I increase it to the correct range, or will it do this in its own as animals are added?
     
  2. L8 2 RISE

    L8 2 RISE Haliphron Atlanticus Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    4
    it should be 8.0-8.3, 6.5 is WAY low, I would not add animals to a tank with that low pH, test your tanks hardness, get that around 10 dKh by adding SMALL doses (like a pinch per 10 gallons) of baking soda to high flow areas. Once you get that stable, pH should start to rise.
     
  3. Octavarium

    Octavarium Wonderpus Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    East Haven,CT
    Yeah in a salt tank 6.5 is totally unacceptable for most organisms I know. What salt mix are you using, and what is your SG?
     
  4. cuttlegirl

    cuttlegirl Colossal Squid Supporter Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,891
    Likes Received:
    236
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    How old is your test kit?
     
  5. Joe-Ceph

    Joe-Ceph Haliphron Atlanticus Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    12
    PH is measured on a logarithmic scale, so a PH of 6.5 is about thirty (30) times more acidic than a PH of 8.0. Definately fix the PH before you put any animals in there.
     
  6. Thales

    Thales Colossal Squid Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,996
    Likes Received:
    69
    Something basic is wrong for a reading that low.
     
  7. Faaborg

    Faaborg O. bimaculoides Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    My test strips might be bad (using the ones from my acids bases science lab) I am using instant ocean, and have about 1/4 of my tank live water. I already have pods and one shrimp living fine for about a week and a half. My SG levels are in standard range. How do I test for hardness?
     
  8. AquaForce

    AquaForce Blue Ring Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    There are a wide variety of test kits, either liquid or dry reagent, as well as test strips..... (KH = carbonate hardness)
     
  9. Thales

    Thales Colossal Squid Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,996
    Likes Received:
    69
    I would say the basic think wrong is the test you are using. :grin: You need to use a test kit designed to work with saltwater because saltwater can do weird things to test kits.
    With that stuff living in your tank, I don't think you have much to worry about.
    What is standard range for SG and what actually is your level and how are you testing?
    I don't think hardness matters much in a ceph tank. Alkalinity levels are important for stony corals.

    Also, in general, be careful chasing numbers and adding stuff to chase those numbers. Often, an additive will not actually 'fix' the numbers you are looking for, and will only bounce the numbers up and down.

    Invest in some quality test kits, API, Salifert, Elos, and you'll be happier.
     
  10. DWhatley

    DWhatley Cthulhu Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    19,076
    Likes Received:
    1,123
    Location:
    Gainesville, GA USA
    Thales,
    My RO/DI water is ALWAYS at about 6.0 without buffering and does not come up much with even the reef salts (which is supposed to be for RO water and produce a higher PH). The neutral reading is expected from RO water. Supposedly, the neutral water will adjust if you add it to water with a different PH (either up or down) but my tank PH drops if I do this without first buffering the new RO.
     
  11. Thales

    Thales Colossal Squid Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,996
    Likes Received:
    69
    I remember that D, and I think you are a special case. Before I would put Faaborg there, I would want test done with a quality kit made for saltwater. :D

    BTW, how long do you mix your saltwater before testing it.
     
  12. Faaborg

    Faaborg O. bimaculoides Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    The specific gravity in my Deep Six hydrometer reads 1.021. The acceptable range is between 1.020 - 1.023.
     
  13. Faaborg

    Faaborg O. bimaculoides Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have had my tank up for about a month maybe 2. Before I tested the water. I have a 200 gallon filtration system and I have a 75 gallon aquarium. I have a refugium with plants and a 200 gallon protein skimmer.
     
  14. Thales

    Thales Colossal Squid Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,996
    Likes Received:
    69
    Thats low. Natural sea water ist 1.0264 and swing arm hydrometers are notoriously inaccurate. So, 1.021 could be much lower. Either way, 1.021 is low. IMO the acceptable range for inverts is between 1.023 and 1.026, the lower end to compensate for swings due to evaporation.
     
  15. Faaborg

    Faaborg O. bimaculoides Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    okay I will change it to 1.026
     
  16. DWhatley

    DWhatley Cthulhu Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    19,076
    Likes Received:
    1,123
    Location:
    Gainesville, GA USA
    I found an interesting article on water and RO DI processing:

    http://www.reefkeeping.com/issues/2005-05/rhf/index.php

    With the following quote about the PH of water after RO/DI filteration:

    1. The pH of totally pure water is around 7 (with the exact value depending on temperature). As carbon dioxide from the atmosphere enters the water, the pH drops into the 6’s and even into the 5’s, depending on the amount of CO2. At saturation with the level of CO2 in normal (outside) air, the pH would be about 5.66. Indoor air often has even more CO2, and the pH can drop a bit lower, into the 5’s. Consequently, the pH of highly purified water coming from an RO/DI unit is expected to be in the pH 5-7 range.

    Since we smoke, the CO2 is likely to be higher in our house but the mixing and areated holding buckets are is in the garage (48 hour min time usually 4-5 days but I mix my buffer immediately to the fresh water and use the prebuffered water to make my salt so I have no recent results but have tried not using a buffer anytime I experiemented with new salt with at least a 48 hour delay). We do have very high acid water (great for azailias, magnolias, gardinias and tomatos) which might partially account for the low PH. I will try to remember to set up a little experiment with tap and unbufferred RO water this weekend.
     
  17. Faaborg

    Faaborg O. bimaculoides Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought all new kits, PH is 8, no nitrate, no phosphates, water hardness normal
    my calcium was low so I added a calcium suppliment
     
  18. Thales

    Thales Colossal Squid Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,996
    Likes Received:
    69
    Good! :smile:
    What kind of kits?
    If you don't have stony corals, you don't need to be worrying about your calcium level (how low was it BTW?).
     
  19. Faaborg

    Faaborg O. bimaculoides Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    My Calcium level was "0" I bought the API saltwater master test kit and added the Kent mineral supplement (with calcium). I thought it might be good to have minerals and cacium in the water because I am adding zooanthids. I also bought the phytoplankton from Kent and added it to my refugium. Here is a pic of my set up. It looks really bad because I should have turned off my flash. I promise the lighting is really great normally. You can see that it is set up in a classroom.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Thales

    Thales Colossal Squid Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,996
    Likes Received:
    69
    I don't believe it is possible for your ca level to be 0 using any of the salt mixes available.
    As for any other additives, I don't believe you need them for the animals you are keeping.
     

Share This Page