• TONMOCON VII Announced | MBL at Woods Hole | Apr 6-8, 2018
  • Thanks for visiting! TONMO is the world's greatest online cephalopod enthusiast community, with interactive content going back to May of 2000, and a biennial conference. If you'd like to join in on the fun, become a TONMO member -- it's easy and free. You can follow us on Facebook and Twitter for more cephy goodness.

Mr. Squiggles - A.aculeatus

davelin315

Wonderpus
Registered
I have no personal experience with this, but I'll take a wild and unreliable stab at it based on what others have said in other threads. I see purple edges to the suckers and a brownish tinge to the skin. I'm going to guess O. briareus. A picture of the mantle and from the other side would be very helpful, as well as size.

CaptFish

Colossal Squid
Staff member
I agree A.Aculeatus. 100 Gallon is a great size. where did you get Him? I dont think we have seen A Acleatus yet this year. Cool!

oh yeah :welcome:

DWhatley

Cthulhu
Staff member
Just to help you understand the ID:

Physical aspects of a male octopus:
- Looking at your first photo note there are several enlarged suckers
- In the second (and you will notice it in the first) you will see a curled up arm. That should be the third arm to the right (clockwise) but the arm positions are difficult to enumerate in the photos (and with Puddles, my octo, all but impossible to determine all the time due to his crazy arm movements).

Species Aculeatus
- color and small frame, arm to mantle ratio about 5:1
- purple lining on suckers (also true of hummelincki/filosus)
- Neogonodactylus (darn it Roy couldn't you have used just Mantis - spelling that kills me) and Muctopus have studied this complex in situ and in lab for years

Additional observations for you to watch for
- A star pattern around the eye
- Little horns to appear over the eyes.