Making choices for school.

Discussion in 'Physiology and Biology' started by chrono_war01, Nov 25, 2004.

1. chrono_war01

chrono_war01 Colossal Squid Supporter

Hello There, I am the annoying guy on the Net. I'm taking my GCSE (some sort of public test when ur going secondary school) :grad: subject options. I want to become a marine biologists but don't know what subjects I need. :?: So, can anyone help me?
    Hope you moderaters won't get angry for going off topic but I don't know which is related to my topic.

2. Tigerkatze_82

Tigerkatze_82 O. vulgaris Registered

Hello :D

(hope I don't misunderstand your question :?)
    Marine biology is a wide area (I'm a marbio student myself) and the knowledge you need to bring with you depends on your later area of interest. If you want to do marine zoology or botany, the subjects I'd recommend are biology and chemistry.
    In contrast, if you prefer to do oceanography stuff later, math, physics and geography may be a good choice ...

Not sure if that helps :|

Cheers,
    TK

3. cthulhu77

cthulhu77 Titanites Supporter

Welcome to Tonmo, and glad you found us!
    Don't worry about going off topic...we do it quite a lot.
    greg

4. marinebio_guy

marinebio_guy Vampyroteuthis Registered

Being a marine biology student also I agree with what TK said, It all depends on what you want to go into.

5. Jean

Jean Colossal Squid Supporter

I would also add in some statistics papers! I didn't and boy do I regret it!

Cheers

J

6. chrono_war01

Ahh..Arghhh

Um...I think that I will go into something that involves jellyfush are octopus/squid. perhaps be the next Steve O'Shea. Haha :oshea:
    So, cya! I love good comments! Thanks for all your help!

7. oscar

oscar Vampyroteuthis Registered

i thought very long and seriously about a career in it but decided to keep it as just a very involved hobby!!