• Looking to buy a cephalopod? Check out Tomh's Cephs Forum, and this post in particular shares important info about our policies as it relates to responsible ceph-keeping.

a little help?

ccopelin

Pygmy Octopus
Registered
I want to start off by saying i just got bashed on another forum for trying to buy this guys so a little help only plz.
One of my LFS has what i am fairly certain is a wonderpus even tho it is labeled as a mimic. I have been keeping and setting up marine systems for ppl for over ten years so a nice tank and optimal water is not an issue. Now i have never kept a ceph but this guy is screaming my name and eventually some newcomer will get it and kill it. It has been there for 2 weeks and they have it eating emeralds and pinky mice. Seeing it eat good makes me think its healthy, but every time i go look at it its colors are very dull. Its legs are pushing 4~5" and head is about dime sized. I have a great custom 45 gal. deep with alot of surface area, softies, and a pile of rock in the middle, another 20 gal in the sump and a nice skimmer. I cant catch the yellow tang or 2 fire fish or the few other inverts in it but i dont really mind if the octo make a healthy meal of them. Please help me make this tank its new home. Are they a harder octo to keep? Just cause it is eating now could i get it home and loose it? I really want to make its short life nice :wink:
Thanks

Go here: Rare and exotics.

Also I may be wrong as we dont talk about this species very much but i believe 45 is too small for a mimic or wonderpus. 65 is what we recommend for most non dwarf species of octopus.

That all being said it is clearly stated in the guidelines of TONMO this site does not support the keeping of these creatures. There is a chance they are endangered as they come from only one small region of the world and that region has been decimated by irresponsible commercial fishing.

Guidelines for Cephalopod Purchase or Aquisition: