Will a plenum work in a bimac tank?

tony7

Hatchling
Registered
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
I have read the recommendation is for about an inch of sand for substrate. Has anyone tried, or even thought about a plenum. I have tried this for a reef tank and I am happy with the results, but this isn’t a reef, it’s an octo tank. The setup I’m talking about is described in detail at garf.com. Basically there is grate covered by plastic window screen to create the air pocket, then 2 inches of reef sand on top of it. This is covered by another screen, then a couple more inches of reef sand. This second screen keeps burrowing critters from going any lower. Will this be ok for a bimac, or do you think I should just go with 1 inch of sand?
 

Nancy

Titanites
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Nov 20, 2002
Messages
5,706
Reaction score
127
Location
Dallas Texas
Go with the 1 inch of sand - your octo would find a way to tear it the arrangement you describe.

Nancy
 

squall7733

O. vulgaris
Registered
Joined
Oct 19, 2005
Messages
98
Reaction score
0
Its pretty much the same as an undergravel filter except you remove the powerhead when nitrites are 0.

I have a few set up on my tanks. An octopus would tear it apart for sure, dont use one.
 

Colin

TONMO Supporter
Supporter
Joined
Nov 14, 2002
Messages
3,986
Reaction score
6
Hi tony, if you want to try a plenum then maybe set one up in a sump plumbed into your main tank, a plenum or DSB in an octos ank wont last long at all.

cheers
colin
 

Members online

No members online now.

Forum statistics

Threads
19,556
Messages
202,854
Members
8,404
Latest member
SouthSeaPugsNReefin

Monty Awards

TONMOCON IV (2011): Terri
TONMOCON V (2013): Jean
TONMOCON VI (2015): Taollan
TONMOCON VII (2018): ekocak

About the Monty Awards
Top