• Looking to buy a cephalopod? Check out Tomh's Cephs Forum, and this post in particular shares important info about our policies as it relates to responsible ceph-keeping.

Why is my octo chewing off its tentacles?

I recently caught a wild bimac. this is the second wild bimac I've had, and the first one did great for over a year, so I have some experience. The new one appears to be full grown and I think it was already holed up, and in the final stage of its life, when I caught it. It has stayed hidden almost constantly and has grabbed, but then rejected all food for the three weeks I've had it. It came out for a minute last night, and I noticed the tips of three or four of its tentcles are missing the tips. I assume it has chewed them off, and I'm wondering what that signifies? What's the story about chewed off tentacles?

If it's just the tips, it may be abrasion, stress or perhaps a bacterial or fungal infection, you really need to worry if it starts to chew them off near the web as this is most likely autophagy disease, which is fatal and highly contagious to other cephs.

J

Jean;142528 said:
If it's just the tips, it may be abrasion, stress or perhaps a bacterial or fungal infection, you really need to worry if it starts to chew them off near the web as this is most likely autophagy disease, which is fatal and highly contagious to other cephs.
J

Thanks Jean. It is just the tips. I suspect then that it is probably stress, given that I pulled an adult octopus from the wild and put in into an aquarium. It is holed up almost constantly (even after a month) and it is refusing food, so I suspect it is at the end of its natural life span. I'm planning to take it back and release it this week, and catch a young one if I'm lucky.