• Looking to buy a cephalopod? Check out Tomh's Cephs Forum, and this post in particular shares important info about our policies as it relates to responsible ceph-keeping.

Where to get Rare and Exotic Cephalopods

Hello! I'm fairly new to the Cephalopod hobby. I had two Dwarf Cuttlefish eggs, but they just sorta shrunk and died:sad: I know that we should all begin on beginner cephs.. As I would start again on Dwarves, but I've always had an interest in either the Nautilus or the Flamboyant Cuttle. But I've always wondered where people get them!! My LFS NEVER gets in cephalopods! Only once they had a bimac.. But it was only there for a week! Any good sites or places that (when I'm experienced enough) I can get exotics?
Thanks

Hi don't want to sound negative but we actively discourage people getting these. Their population numbers are relatively unknown in the wild and even for very experienced aquarists these are difficult to keep! By your own admission, you are new to cephs and I would really, really, really suggest you start with something else!!!! Also you would need such a HUGE tank you really couldn't do it at home. For other cephs though.......check out the ceph care forums, chat with Thales, Nancy, Colin etc all very experienced people. I'm in NZ so can't help with where to source a ceph, but others may have idea's. I'd pretty much give up on the exotics, I wouldn't try, and Marine Science and Aquarium work is my profession!!!!!!!!!! Good luck with your ceph quest and :welcome:! Jean

Unfortunately, "easy" is relative. With a lot of thanks to Thales, it is possible to keep bendensis today but I would not call it easy. In truth, it may be easier to keep officianalis but they are so large, home keepers don't have the needed tank size for one, let alone several.