Test wrong?

ant

Vampyroteuthis
Registered
Joined
Jan 1, 2004
Messages
413
Reaction score
0
Hmmm..strange..My test kit supposibly says tat there is zero nitratesin my water. Is this possible with it being cycled for a month and a half?
 

cthulhu77

TONMO Supporter
Supporter
Joined
Mar 15, 2003
Messages
6,642
Reaction score
2
Unlikely that it is already cycled...sorry...it may actually be going slower...you also might want to take some water to a good lfs and see if they get the same result, it is possible for test kits to go bad.

greg
 

Nancy

Titanites
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Nov 20, 2002
Messages
5,706
Reaction score
127
Location
Dallas Texas
As I recall, you're rather far from any LFS. You could check this by buying another test kit, maybe another brand. This is an important result, so it's worth the extra effort. (I now keep ways of double checking all my parameters, including different test kits).

Nancy
 

ant

Vampyroteuthis
Registered
Joined
Jan 1, 2004
Messages
413
Reaction score
0
Ok thanks. There is a fish store with 4 saltwater tanks and i will take some of it there. I can also buy shrimp from them i think :hmm:

1 more question. Is there any kind of device that can monitor my tank parameters?
 

Nancy

Titanites
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Nov 20, 2002
Messages
5,706
Reaction score
127
Location
Dallas Texas
Yes, there are such monitors. I have a pH monitor that gives a continuous readout and I like that very much. It costs about $85 and you have to calibrate it with fluid every month. There is also a salinity monitor available. There are montitors for the other parameters but I believe those are much more expensive.

Glad you do have a store not too far away.

Nancy
 

Members online

No members online now.

Forum statistics

Threads
19,554
Messages
202,841
Members
8,402
Latest member
ezersky

Monty Awards

TONMOCON IV (2011): Terri
TONMOCON V (2013): Jean
TONMOCON VI (2015): Taollan
TONMOCON VII (2018): ekocak

About the Monty Awards
Top