Tank Setup?

Discussion in 'Tank Talk' started by RyanK, Mar 5, 2004.

1. RyanK

RyanK Larval Mass Registered

Ok guys im new to salt water tanks. Im getting a 120 gallon soon and i have a few questions about inhabitant selection. Here is what i want

Blue Ring Octo
    Lion Fish
    Snow Flake Eel

Now the big question is, can an octo live in harmony with these animals? And also what kind of fish would i put able to put in this tank that wont get picked off? Advice would be much appreciated.
    Thankyou
    Ryan

2. joel_ang

joel_ang Architeuthis Registered

Hey bad news, the eel mightt go for the blue ring, and kill it which also might result in the death of the eel. A large lionfish like an adult volitans could snatch your octo if it gets spotted. They all eat about the same food, competition will be unavoidable.

Blue rings as you know are highly venemous, do no live long, are mainly nocturnal and only flash their colours when excited or threatened. So we don't really reccomend trying to keep them.

Octos do best without tankmates, small fish get eaten, fish equal to or larger in size will also be taken on (Giant pacific octos sometimes eat sharks). If the fish is much larger than the octo, say goodbye to your cephalopodian friend.

Sorry to be so negative but I hope this helps.

3. RyanK

Man that is a bummer... what kind of octo do you reccomend? i really want a tank with one but i want to be able to enjoy other animals also... Does anyone have a setup with and octo plus other inhabitants?

4. Colin

Colin Colossal Squid Supporter

Hi Ryan, its a common question and the aswer is an definite no to keeping cephalopods with anything other than a starfish or urchin!

Many people have tried and as Joel points out, ends in dissaster! So really an octopus tank is a species only tank.

Where do you live? this has a great influence on what's available to you.

5. joel_ang