Substrate

Discussion in 'Tank Talk' started by oscar, Nov 5, 2004.

  1. oscar

    oscar Vampyroteuthis Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Seccond hand tanks eh!!

    i have my tank set up and running - though without a cuttle yet!!! :cry:

    is it too late to add more substrate to the tank? liverock and corals already in! or could i still do it? Its just that the bed is only very shallow - calcium grit and i dont think the plenum will function properly
     
  2. Nancy

    Nancy Titanites Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    5,584
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Dallas Texas
    How deep is your substrate? (what do you mean by shallow?)

    Nancy
     
  3. oscar

    oscar Vampyroteuthis Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    I talked to someone at a lfs today and he seemed to think it was deep enough though he said it would be better to add a bit than waste the natural filtration by being "not sure"

    Nancy, it is only about 2 inches deep - 5cm exactly in most places. The plenum was disturbed by the move so i am sort of starting over and i thought this might be the best time to add some more if needed

    Btw what is your preffered substrate - what do you think of shell grit? is it a ph buffer? its just that i can get it much cheaper than the other substrates.

    thanks again - also 'accidentaly' bought a red brittle star and blue linkia and a handful of grape caulerpa today lol :D
     
  4. know-it-all

    know-it-all O. vulgaris Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    I hate it when accidents happen,

    I don't know if this is available to you, but
    When I'm adding more sand to a tank,
    I've gotten the "live" sand that comes in a sealed bag
    and good for 1 year. Agro-Live I think the name is.
    anyway, I've added that stuff to reef tanks and
    noticed no change in anything.
    I've never added more than 1 bag per week.
    just to be safe

    just a thought
     
  5. oscar

    oscar Vampyroteuthis Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah i know what you mean but that stuff is waaaaay too expensive in australia - shipped at least 3 times around the world before getting here no doubt

    i think ill go with the shell grit - its like 1/6 the cost

    ill see about getting some spaghetti worms or summin to make my substrate 'live'

    thanks for the one bag suggestion - good idea
     
  6. cthulhu77

    cthulhu77 Titanites Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    6,642
    Likes Received:
    2
    I usually have substrate depths of less than two inches, but have not kept cuttles either...how deep do they like to burrow?
     
  7. joel_ang

    joel_ang Architeuthis Registered

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,028
    Likes Received:
    0
    They normally burrow to about half to 2/3 the height of their mantle so their eyes can still stick out .so it depends on the size of your cuttle. 5cm should be ok but after awhile your substrate will become very uneven due to the constant jet of water from the cuttle.
     
  8. Colin

    Colin Colossal Squid Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Messages:
    3,986
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hi Oscar

    Are you using the plenum system with a gap under the gravel between the bottom of the tank and the sand? I'd be worried about a cuttle digging in deep enough to disturb the plenum and releasing all the nasty gasses that build up in there...

    So especially once the cutttle is big it will disturb a plenum...

    cheers
     
  9. oscar

    oscar Vampyroteuthis Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah i have egg crate underneath the gravel

    ok i hadnt though of the gasses!!!

    I will get another inch or two of shell grit this weekend
     

Share This Page