• Looking to buy a cephalopod? Check out Tomh's Cephs Forum, and this post in particular shares important info about our policies as it relates to responsible ceph-keeping.

Starting from Scratch

articwoolf

Hatchling
Registered
So I am new to salt water anything. I have had fresh for many years but have also worked with some very large salt water animals, mamals and other marine life. I am thinking about starting up my first salt water tank and working my way to getting an octopus. I have worked with several from cali to seattle.
I am totally starting from scratch on this one. What I mean by that one is first comes in the brand new water heater. I have no problem getting that one what I am wondering is what would be good to use to purify the water coming out of said water heater? I want to be able to know everything starting from themost basic and taking it nice and slow and reading everything but I did want help with this one question.

:welcome: You're from South Dakota? My in-laws are from Sioux Falls... Not sure what you mean by purify... do you mean what kind of filter or what kind of water? If you can get your hands on RO/DI water, that would be a good start.

Much to my surprise, there is an aquarium society in South Dakota. This may be a good place to lurk. http://www.sfaas.org

I don't know what happened to my post but it seems to have disappeared :cry: (and I almost lost it yet again), the following is more or less what I wrote.