• Looking to buy a cephalopod? Check out Tomh's Cephs Forum, and this post in particular shares important info about our policies as it relates to responsible ceph-keeping.

Some questions.

briareus

Cuttlefish
Registered
I can finally post on this site, great.

Just a beginner here and as you can see from my username, I am interested in keeping an octopus briareus. However, any personable species will actually be fine.

Before I start asking questions, these are limitations to my resourcefulness.

Am sixteen, and thus financially incomparable to adults.
Am in Singapore, and will probably access to a large variety of octopi.
However, the average room temperature is at 28 celsius, and this could be a problem with octopus like Bimaculoides.
Am placing the octopus tank, if at all, in the bedroom.

I would like to have some answers to the following questions.
How much will feeding cost?
How much should I feed at one sitting?
What size prey items should be fed, are there any limitations on being too big for instance?
It is required for octopi to be weaned onto non-living food, or will they just take it first hand?
Can I do without an RO-DI unit?
Which species should I start with?
How do I tell different species apart, in particular, hummelincki, bimaculoides and bimaculatus?

This seems to be all for now. Thank you for your help!

:welcome: briareus

Finding an O.briareus in Singapore may be difficult because they are a Caribbean species. The collectors I use do no exporting but I know some are exported but I don't believe they are easily located. I would suggest checking out both seafood and aquarium stores near you and photograph any you see. We may or may not be able to identify local species but those imported for the aquarium trade are usually identifiable.

How much will feeding cost?
How much should I feed at one sitting?
What size prey items should be fed, are there any limitations on being too big for instance?