Rearing Flamboyant Cuttlefish

Discussion in 'Cuttlefish Care' started by Severine, Oct 26, 2015.

1. Severine

Severine Larval Mass Registered

Hello all,

I am new to TONMO and I am excited that I found somewhere where I can exchange ideas and gain feedback from those who are very experienced with cephalopods.

A little about my background: I care professionally for a Giant Pacific Octopus, Chambered Nautilus and Flamboyant Cuttlefish. Of the three, the last is the newest to me and why I am reaching out. I have had a fairly positive experience learning all I can from my adults, but my struggle is with rearing their young. My females have been laying eggs for months now, but I have been struggling keeping the babies alive. This is also my first time attempting to rear them.

I am feeding both 3 day and 7 day old mysids. The 7 day old mysids are being ate by a slightly older baby (about a month-month and a half) while I am feeding the 3 day old mysids to my 2-3 week old/newly hatched cuttles. The older baby I have began targeting and is eating quite well. The younger babies I am struggling with.

Some observations I have seen include the babies hatching prematurely and not eating (some wave their arms around but don't actually go after the prey). There is just this hump that I can't seem to get them over.

What has been successful for you in rearing these magnificent animals?

Thank you so much for your input. I am excited for your response.

2. DWhatley

DWhatley Cthulhu Staff Member Moderator

I've not had this opportunity but will try to bring this to the attention of Richard Ross (@Thales - California Academy of Sciences), @Brian Siegel (Mote Marine Labs) and @Bret Grasse MBA (MBARI) in hopes they will have suggestions.

3. tonmo

tonmo Titanites Staff Member Webmaster Moderator

Welcome to TONMO @Severine, thanks for joining!

4. gjbarord

gjbarord Sepia elegans Staff Member Moderator

Welcome!