• Looking to buy a cephalopod? Check out Tomh's Cephs Forum, and this post in particular shares important info about our policies as it relates to responsible ceph-keeping.

[Old Board Archive] octopuses and sand

tonmo

Cthulhu
Staff member
Site Owner
octopuses and sand|kovu|
hey guys i have a 29 gal that i just added 4" of sand to about a month ago. and everytime i move rocks or dig in the sand about 1" or more deeper, this white cloud will go about the tank. im worried if its harmful because i know octopuses like to dig in the sand and id be worried about this white cloudy stuff. i used about 100 lbs of southdown and i am still working on seeding the tank with others' sand. ive added at least 5 lbs of seeded sand.

also now that im posting... ive read that sea stars and sea cukes are good octopus tankmates, but can they actualy tolerate the 72º-76º water?

thanks for any help
dave.

Re: octopuses and sand|octomonkey|
Hi Dave

i have never used Southdown sand before. Its not something commonly available in the UK. Could it be that the sand ws put in the tank still a bit dirty or dusty? Or is it coming off the sand since its addition?

Also, I am not convinced that a Deep Sand Bed like you have is actually much use at all with octopuses. Normally just a fine covering is enough for aesthetic species unless it is a burrowing species, but they are not seen very often for sale. However, if using it as a live sand bed it is probably best not to dig about in it very much.

DSBs do crash eventually. It is in their nature to do so. Do you have any other means of filtration and are you using a skimmer.

The cukes et al will be fine at those temperatures.

hope i helped a bit :smile:
C

Re: octopuses and sand|kovu|
Ya i know DSB's crash eventualy, i also heard you have to replace the live rock because it also crashes eventualy.