OCTOPUS: COMMON CAUSE OF DEATH

Discussion in 'Octopus Care' started by brett, Aug 24, 2004.

1. brett

brett O. vulgaris Registered

from your experience what is the most common cause of death in most home tanks? (not including old age)...
    thanks

2. Nancy

Nancy Titanites Staff Member Moderator

I've been keeping track of this with bimacs for a couple of years now. There's no one overriding cause. Some early deaths last year were vaguely due to human error (escape where the tank wasn't properly sealed, family member turning up the temperature on the heater, power stayed off during a weeks absence, etc.)

But this year we couldn't determine why some of them died. Reason unknown. There were several that survived a few months and then passed away.

I will continue to track this and hope that we gain some additional knowledge.

Nancy

3. Colin

Colin Colossal Squid Supporter

owners mistakes is probably the commonist, but closely followed by shipping stress for some species

4. brett

yeah, thank you. I figured someone more experienced than I on here would have been keeping trakcof this and they were. I am almost completely ready to go on my octo tank which with research and all is almost a year and a half in the making. So I am real edgy right now about actually getting the octo. I want to make his first two or so months as good as possible and am trying to gain common mistake info. thank you for the help and any other knowledge that would help me in this reguard that isn't regular octo care would be greatly aprecciated. thanks again,
    Brett

5. cthulhu77

cthulhu77 Titanites Supporter