• Looking to buy a cephalopod? Check out Tomh's Cephs Forum, and this post in particular shares important info about our policies as it relates to responsible ceph-keeping.

O. hummelincki eggs

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting so I'll give a quick introduction as well. I am an aquarist at a local AZA aquarium in New Jersey. I've had a deep passion for cephalopods as far back as my memory goes and I've been fortunate enough to care for some of the cephs we house at our aquarium.

Anyway, we recieved our O. hummelincki back on July 6th from Dynasty Marine in Florida and as of today, she has laid her eggs. I was not able to get much info on how long the previous place had her, I was only told "just a few weeks". So I am being quite optimistic and I'm hoping she may be carrying sperm and the eggs could be fertile. I am also under the impression these eggs have not been sucessfully reared in captivity before as well.

I've grown quite fond of the little octopus over the last few weeks and I just feel the need to try and do something for her eggs. If there's nothing that can be done I totally understand but I do not want to give up on her eggs just yet. If anyone can give me any feedback on egg reaering for this species I would be incredibly appreciative as this is the first time I've dealt with octopus eggs and trying to hatch them.

Thank you!!!

P.S - I will try to post some older pictures and videos of her when I get a chance. She really is quite beautiful!

:cuttlehi:@Connor Gibbons,