• Looking to buy a cephalopod? Check out Tomh's Cephs Forum, and this post in particular shares important info about our policies as it relates to responsible ceph-keeping.

Newbie tank setup idea

Gridlox

Pygmy Octopus
Registered
Hello all :heee:,

To begin, I must admit that I am brand new to the hobby. I have been lurking on the forums for about a month now. I have been putting together a plan for the build I am wanting to attempt. I had been hoping to go big(ish) and get a bimac since they sound like the best pet. However, I signed my lease for my apartment yesterday and they have a pet policy that only allows 25g or smaller tanks. So bimac is out, and dwarf octo(prolly merc is my new option). I have read that mercs havent been available for a bit now, but I wont be in my apartment and ready for an octo until next fall.

What I was thinking for my build is this:
20g tank
25g sump(I was thinking having a tank and sump would be easier since Im new to the hobby and more water is more room for error)

wet/dry filter
protein skimmer
pump

I know the above items need to be rated at 3x what would normally be needed. However, do I multiple the tank size by three (so I would need a filter for 60g tank) or do I had tank and sump and multiple by three(so a 135g filter)?

I will also get approx 20 lbs live rock
some sand for the bottom(enough for a 1/2 inch layer)
1(or 2?) O. mercs
a few purple barnacle shells(i think thats what they were called, id read in the forums they make good "caves" that allow the octo to still be viewed"
lights(red so i can see the merc but do i also need other lights so stuff can grow on the live rock?)