• Looking to buy a cephalopod? Check out Tomh's Cephs Forum, and this post in particular shares important info about our policies as it relates to responsible ceph-keeping.

New to TONMO and to Cephalopods

Phisher

Cuttlefish
Registered
Hello all, I recently found your site after doing some research on octopus care. I have been keeping saltwater fish for 10+ years and reef tanks almost as long. Over the past few months I have been researching something a bit more unusual to keep. After ruling out sea horses and mantis shrimp, I decided to try an octo. A bimac. seems to be the obvious first choice. I will explain my planned set up below and would appreciate feedback, corrections or any constructive criticism from the group.

Display:

Looking at a 36x18x17 acrylic tank from glasscages. I plan to have the back drilled with 2 holes (1 return, 1 drain) with no overflow. I will use a short standpipe with strainer for the return. The tank will be fitted with full acrylic tops but I will also custom build a fully enclosed canopy.

Sump:

Prob. be somewhere around 30x12x12. I have a Berlin Turbo skimmer from an old upgrade I will use here. I am also planning a refugium section with LS some LR and chaeto. I will also use this section to house extra live food-shrimps, crabs, etc. Lighting will consist of pc's run about 8hrs a day during the evenings. Mag 7 or so for a return pump.

My concerns:

Lighting: I realize the octo has no special lighting requirements. So would it be possible to have no lighting in the display if the tank is illuminated by ambient light?

Substrate: Is it possible to go bare bottom or is a sand bed pretty much a must?

Clean up: This follows my lighting concerns. The tank will be pretty low flow (water) and most cleanup crews I've seen would end up lunch, so I am concerned about algae outbreaks. Any input here would help greatly.

Thanks

Phisher

:welcome: to TONMO!