• Looking to buy a cephalopod? Check out Tomh's Cephs Forum, and this post in particular shares important info about our policies as it relates to responsible ceph-keeping.

New to the wonderful world of chephalopods

platypus

Hatchling
Registered
Hi!

I am a first year master student at Bar-ilan university in Israel doing my thesis on the behavior of a species of crab (Lybia sp.) and its symbiosis with sea anemones that it holds in each of its claws.
Basicaly little is known about this interesting symbiosis and i will be testing various aspects of it.
One of the things to be assesed is role of the anemones in protecting the crabs from predators.
Enter the most formidable crustacean predator- Octopus Vulgaris:wink:
A few weeks ago I started contemplating how I get my hands on a cephalopod. My first thought was a cuttlefish, they are in season now and fishermen pull them out all the time for bait. Octopus are less commonly fished in these parts (not eaten), and those caught are too big for my setup. I needed to get a juvenile one.
Long story short, On a trip out to sea (1 km from shore) whilst checking up on some one elses project (goose barnacle settelment) we pulled out a big peice of rusty metal, used as a weight, from 30m deep and...out came a small Octopus:wink: (to my great surprise and delight). In reterospect its not such a surprise. Ive dived at that location and its a totaly baren sand desert. So it makes sence that an octopus would chose our "weight" as a den.
In terms of size its less than an open hand and i have it kept for now in a 40 liter tank, with fresh sea water that i change very often, live sand and rocks, proper filtration (unforteonatly I dont have a protein skimmer at the moment but i hope that the frequent water changes compensate for this).