• Looking to buy a cephalopod? Check out Tomh's Cephs Forum, and this post in particular shares important info about our policies as it relates to responsible ceph-keeping.

new to the octo

kjlittle0

Cuttlefish
Registered
hello all,
i have just purchased my first octpus was looking for some advice and maybe a few questions answered.

i know many people worry about octo owners not being "experts" but i would surely consider myself a saltwater expert. i have been breeding fish for 13 years and have been raising corals for nearly 5 years. i have a buddy that owns a pet shop and recieved a dwarf octopus, from comparing him to pictures on this site, i would call him an o. mercatoris.

he originally came in a medium size cricket cage that i sat in my frag tank until his tank was completely ready, but this did not work out as planned. i have some banggia cardinals in the tank and the instantly started poking at the cage and trying to get to the octo and then he inked while trying to get to the other side so i had to act fast. i set up a 15 g hex with an under gravek filter and used the substrate from my reef tank and the live from it and the water from it and waited about an hour until i put him in and everything is doing just fine and the tank is at 78 degrees.

i ordered some ghost shrimp and some fiddler crabs for food but they will not be in until tomorrow so all i had to offer was a freshly hatched percula clown.... i know its unfortunate.

could you please let me know if this set up will work for him, how to tell if it is a him in the first place, if i can have more than one, how to trigger breeding and when to try and breed them and any other useful things i might want to know...

thank you

just going by what i read from other posts, 78 degrees is a little warm. also, they will eat hermit crabs and mine has eaten a snail or two. so im sure you can find something to feed it.