New to the Ceph hobby

Discussion in 'Cephalopod Journals' started by magikceph, Apr 12, 2007.

1. magikceph

magikceph O. vulgaris Registered

i have always like all kind of cephalopods, ever cince the 5th grade!! but i thought it was illegal, or you needed a marine biologists liscense to own one. well i now know any one can own one. i wanted a cuttlefish but i live in california. So i really can't cause of the inconvienece:cry: . Also im a beginner Ceph hobbyiest. Can anyone reccomend a Ceph for a begginer. also how much would i cost to get and take care of that specific Ceph. Thanks, and i am going to enjoy this hobby, i know it.:smile:

2. Jean

Jean Colossal Squid Supporter

:welcome: Magikceph

Check out the ceph care articles (there's HEAPS of info!) and be prepared to a) become totally obsessed (if you're not already!) and b) be perpetually broke!

Apart from the tank (50G or larger for most octis) and it's fittings and your new buddy the biggest cost will be food. If you live near the coast you may be able to collect your own but check the fisheries regulations first, you don't want to get arrested!!!!!!

Cheers

J

3. monty

monty Colossal Squid Staff Member Supporter

:welcome: to TONMO.

Unfortunately, there aren't really any "easy" cephs to keep. The ceph care articles at the top of the page go into some of the details, but in a nutshell, it's important to know marine aquarium keeping and have the right equipment, including a large, cycled tank, before trying to keep any ceph. That being said, bimacs, and briareus are the two most common octos kept, and bandensis is the most common cuttle for home tanks. Smaller octos are frequently shy, nocturnal, and have short lifetimes, although some folks do keep them, but they're not really "easier" than slightly larger animals.

4. corw314

corw314 Colossal Squid Staff Member Moderator