• Looking to buy a cephalopod? Check out Tomh's Cephs Forum, and this post in particular shares important info about our policies as it relates to responsible ceph-keeping.

New to Octopus, need some help with tank size, ect...

lougotzz

Hatchling
Registered
Hi everybody, I am new to octopus, but not to reefing. I have had several different types of reef tanks, and I have kept many different types of high care demanding animals.

My questions are, how difficult is it to care for an octopus? I know they can be easily startled, and this can cause them to ink. I have always read to appoach the aquarium slowly so I do not scare the animal. I was reading on live aquaria's web site that they labeled this animals difficulty as expert only. If I am comfortable with SPS corals and demanding anemones like H. magnifica, is it basically the same thing as far as water chemistry?

I would like to keep an octopus in a 40 breeder. So if you could tell me of some species that will do well in this size aquarium, I will read up on them.

Does anyone have any good ideas on how to keep them in the tank? I was talking to a friend and he was telling me that astro turf was a good thing to put over the aquarium because they can not stand the feel of it. I was also thinking of window screens people use to keep fish like gobies in the tank.

I was planning dim lighting, and lots of caves for it to hide in.

So can anyone tell me about specific species that are ok in a 40 breeder?

Thanks.

lougotzz;168332 said:
My questions are, how difficult is it to care for an octopus? I know they can be easily startled, and this can cause them to ink. I have always read to appoach the aquarium slowly so I do not scare the animal. I was reading on live aquaria's web site that they labeled this animals difficulty as expert only. If I am comfortable with SPS corals and demanding anemones like H. magnifica, is it basically the same thing as far as water chemistry?