• Looking to buy a cephalopod? Check out Tomh's Cephs Forum, and this post in particular shares important info about our policies as it relates to responsible ceph-keeping.

New tank setup

b25oshea

Blue Ring
Registered
I am new to cephalopod raising, and I am seeking advice for a long-term setup for a science project for an Octopus Vulgaris. After reading several detailed articles on the setups I have arrived at the following setup:

40 gallon breeder tank
H.O.T. Magnum canister filter with Bio-Whell Pro 60 spray bar
Cheap Counter Current Protein Skimmer (21.99)
Azoo Air Pump (up to 55 gallons)
Tap Water Filter (29.99)
Aragamax Sand (24.99)

I wish to know whether such a tank setup is feasible and any other advice would be appreciated. I thank anybody who will respond.

Hi there, welcome to TONMO.com :smile:

I would think that a 40gal would be too small to keep a vulgaris in once it has reached a bigger size. I would think you should look at 100+ to keep it happier and to cope with the waste from such a beast.

The skimmer will do when the vulgaris is small but may not keep up with the waste once it is big.

I belive that skimmer is ran inside the tank. i would think the octo will soon pull it to bits. You may be better looking for an external. The cheapest 1/2 decent ones start at about $60 or so... You could save some cash on the sand as you wont need that much.

You need to make sure that the tank is escape proof for a vulgaris. they are very strong!

There are other bits and pieces you should look at to buy too. Stuff liek hydrometers and test kits for the water quality. they all come in usefull as does a good quality carbon for extra chemical filtration.

hope that helps for a start :smile:

C

RE: RE: New Tank

Thank you for responding
I seem to have undersestimated the time and money required to raise an octous. As for the tank size, 40 gallons would be my maximum, so what species of octopi would be compatible? bimaculatus?