• Looking to buy a cephalopod? Check out Tomh's Cephs Forum, and this post in particular shares important info about our policies as it relates to responsible ceph-keeping.

Need some help!

gnashty

Hatchling
Registered
First of all - I totally apologize if this is not the right place for this post but need a little help concerning a Briareus Octopus.

Second of all - HELLO!! Octo noob here thanks for having me. I am going to start my research here and if I decide I will take the ceph plunge sometime next year. I currently have a 210 reef tank and am an active member of the ARC (Atlanta Reef Club).

Ok, we have a member who's brother took it upon himself (not a hobbyist) to put a baby Briareus Octopus in his fully established reef tank. This was about a week ago. Obviously he needs this lil fella out and to a good home pronto but he just cant figure out how to catch him. He is starting to wipe out his CUC and im sure the rest is history as well. He has yet to see him, once put in the tank it dissappeared and he just "heard about it" from his brother. "Hey man, got you a cool octopus, its in your tank".....WHAT!!! And has not seen it come out yet...any tricks to catching this feller? He is unable to dismantle the rockwork (although once his livestock is decimated he will probably have to).

Any help would be great!!

My first thought was to limit where it can get its food supply. I would try the accli-mate, foster and smith have these. Once it gets used to the food being there I think it shouldnt be a problem. One other thing... it could be nocturnal... if it is then its not going to come out until the lights are off... your friend should be up late to watch (after 12) Try using red lights on the tank at night so he can see. Good luck