Need help with Orthocone sculpture

Discussion in 'Cephalopod Fossils' started by modelnut, Apr 23, 2008.

1. modelnut

modelnut O. vulgaris Registered

Hello! Newbie here.

I was researching images of giant orthocones and came across Phil's thread and had to register!

The giant orthocone in Nigel Marvin's "Swimming with Sea Monsters" really caught my imagination. I have wanted to sculpt the beast ever since. So far I have the conical shell complete at 26cm. Since the finished model is intended to be 35th scale that makes it less than the suggested greatest size of 11 meters. (I may lengthen the shell or not. It is a good size for the base it will sit on.)

I have the image from Phil's thread:

I have this also:
    [​IMG]
    It is from the bottom of this page: http://bestiarium.kryptozoologie.net/artikel/2007/09/

What I need to know is what this animals tentacles were like.
    The DVD suggested that suckers hadn't evolved in the Ordovician so what gave the animal its grip?
    A rough gripping callous? Claws?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. :grin:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

In the meantime . . .

I have a sculpture that you might find interesting. If you have heard of the Speculative Dinosaur Project you may know about their baleen squid. In the Spec dimension, the asteroid that wiped out the dinosaurs missed. So life on that world did not turn out the way it did here. Mammals never took over so whales never evolved. Squid diversified and took their place. I got excited about the idea and sculpted one: http://groups.msn.com/ModelersAndHobbyForum/modeltsar.msnw?Page=1

I don't know why, but squids and octopi fascinate me. :sink:

Thank you!
    -Leelan

2. monty

monty Colossal Squid Staff Member Supporter

:welcome: I don't know why either, but squids and octopuses fascinate most of us, too!