• Looking to buy a cephalopod? Check out Tomh's Cephs Forum, and this post in particular shares important info about our policies as it relates to responsible ceph-keeping.

Nano reef and the octopus for which i weep

I studied the blue ring for some time, escape proofed the tank, and was ready for the little bugger. He reacted very badly to the aclimation, hyperventilating, convulsing, went nutz basicly. this was on a 5cc of water every 5 minutes aclimation. good enough to aclimate the most sensitive of creatures. Well that one died. not shure why. Pet store offered the other one in it's stock, this one seemed a bit more lively, it was, that is untill i pulled his plastic bag out of the paper bag and all I see is brown water. Octo 2 is dead. Tried recesitation with a water squirter. I don't run an octo trauma ward, so that was the best I could do. Why!!! just why? wont my new pet live? even a couple of months would have been satisfactory though not entirely fulfilling. Is this just what these guys like to do? suicide pets? I want an octo in my 10gallon nano bad! if not the blue ring what then? what are your recomendations, any idea why they would freek out on aclimation? everything is perfect, even had the LFS double check it for me. Corals are fine, why not my squishy?

Welcome to tonmo.

I would not recomend a blue ring for 10 gallons or at all. Research the guys and you may not even tried to revive it yourself.

A 10 gallon is greatly going to limit your choices. Try mecatoris, you seem to have conceeded to the fact that it wont be in there long anyways.

Mecatoris life span is 4-6 months, and they are caught wild, so you do not know their age when captured. Could be 1 month could be 5.

Sounds like the second one inked in the bag and suffocated. The first could have been a natural death.

GL to you and read some threads on keeping an octo and you should do fine.

BTW - some corals can sting and octo. Be careful. :biggrin2: