My Recent Octo Encounter

Discussion in 'Cephalopod Journals' started by Fujisawas Sake, May 6, 2003.

1. Fujisawas Sake

Fujisawas Sake Larger Pacific Striped Octopus Supporter Registered

Heya Everyone,

Just wanted to share an Enteroctopus pic with you all! I took this one at the Humboldt State University Fred J. Telonicher Marine Lab... The resident invert zoo instructor declined my invitation to join TONMO. :roll: The octo was asleep, and I didn't flash his eyes, so all is cool.

Sushi and Sake,

John

2. Fujisawas Sake

Sorry!!

Oops... Its a big photo, so those of you using non high-speed lines may have a bit of a download time... I'm still new at this digital camera thing.

Gomen ne,

John

3. corw314

corw314 Colossal Squid Staff Member Moderator

Cool photo!!!

Was he eating? Wonder what the red things were hanging down?

Carol

4. Colin

Colin Colossal Squid Supporter

thanks for sharing :)

5. Fujisawas Sake

You know, I think they were the tips of its arms... The display in the tank was very basic, and from their position and movement, I would swear that they were the tips. Weird though... Maybe I haven't seen enough octos in my lifetime...

Then again, have any of us? :heee:

Sushi and Sake,

John

6. Invazn

Invazn Pygmy Octopus Registered

speaking of sushi can you eat your bimacs when they die? or is Tako a different kind of octo?

7. Fujisawas Sake

Er... Well, I have no idea if O. bimaculoides is the choice in Japanese cooking. If you want, I have a book on the history and principles of Japanese cooking, and I can answer your question sometime in a few weeks when I return home from Texas.

I do know that Japanese cooking uses several species of cuttle, octo, and squid. Tako-yaki, or fried Octo "balls" are probably giant pacific.

Sushi and Sake,

John

8. WhiteKiboko

WhiteKiboko Colossal Squid Supporter Registered