Mimic Octopus at local store

Kirk

Pygmy Octopus
Registered
Reaction score
Just thought I would let everyone in the Tampa Bay area know that my local pet store, about 3 blocks from me, has just gotten in a Mimic Octopus. If you would like to see it you can go to Petmart (not Petsmart) in the Bay Pines Plaza. It is the coolest thing I have ever seen and I've been keeping saltwater creatures for over 30 years now. Would seriously consider it if the life span wasn't so short but $400 for something that might not make it for over a couple of weeks is kinda steep.

Anyway its a rare chance to see something very rarely seen in captivity.

Kirk

Octomush

Vampyroteuthis
Registered
Reaction score
WTF!?!? #$&#!

GAG! :yuck: That is the biggst load of bull @$#! I have ever heard! 400 $ For a octerpus. Holly friggin crap! :bugout: Just go catch ur own! Where do u think they got theirs! Sheesh! I jus caught my own today! Aquarists these day.... Pffff!

Kirk

Pygmy Octopus
Registered
Reaction score
Nick, your reply makes you sound like a moron. You obviously don't have a clue as to what a Mimic Octopus is and you certainly didn't go out and catch one today. You don't just go out and catch a Mimic. They are so rare that only a couple are caught a year. They are hardly ever even seen let alone caught. They are so rare that they don't even have a scientific name assigned to them yet. Do a Google search on Mimic Octopus and learn Nick before you post stuff you know nothing about. I personally am amazed that it is only $400 considering the rarety of it.

Kirk

Colin

TONMO Supporter
Supporter
Reaction score
Hi Kirk

yes, it seems to be the zebra/mimic/wonderpus season again! A local wholesaler to me was offered 3 from Bali just this week and asked me about them. He is not going to ship them in...

I do wonder about their prices as these ones were offered at £20 - £30 trade...

I agree, what a waste of lives and money!