• Looking to buy a cephalopod? Check out Tomh's Cephs Forum, and this post in particular shares important info about our policies as it relates to responsible ceph-keeping.

Just got my first zebra/mimic octo need help ASAP

Ok I've been doing saltwater for almost ten years I have a 120 gallon reef tank 180 shark tank and a120 gallon tank for my octo he's all alone except for a few crabs and live rock I noticed today that he is some way some how missing two tentitcals is this bad for him will they grow back I'm very concerned please let me know what you think. Thanks Jeremy

Did you purchase him in this condition, or did it happen in your tank?
Im not an octo keeper, I'm with the cuttles, but I think I remember reading somewhere that the legs do grow back. Also I imagine that there is a very high rate of infection...I'll let an actual octo keeper take over from here, though.

It is common to see them missing arms. It he came to you like that then he probly lost them in battle, or being captured. If they did not come missing them it could be Autophagy, which means he ate them. This can be cause by any number of things including stress, bad water conditions or because the animal is senescent

Photos are always helpful for both ID and injury. Often an octopus is sold under a generic name that does not help with species identification.

Animals in the Abdopus complex can throw their arms if trapped and possibly if stressed but most arm damage is done by hardware or other animals. The first thing to look for at this point is an unsafe object in the tank. Open impellers or impellers up dark shafts are frequently the problem.