I am new at this

cat32

Hatchling
Registered
Joined
Jan 5, 2004
Messages
2
#1
Looking to setup a tank for 1 Octopus only.

I have a 55 gallon tank and need everyones help buying the right equipment.

So far I plan on buying the listed items.

Wet/dry filter
http://www.fishsupply.com/cgi-bin/f...=f2&mode=item&path=top/S/DB/SIPML/SIPML-0330B

Protein Skimmer
http://www.fishsupply.com/cgi-bin/f...=f2&mode=item&path=top/S/SS/SSAZZ/SSPWB-10075

Pump
http://www.fishsupply.com/cgi-bin/f...=f2&mode=item&path=top/S/SW/SWBZZ/SPWTI-01100

Heater
http://www.fishsupply.com/cgi-bin/f...=f2&mode=item&path=top/S/SH/SHKAZ/SHHWB-13150

Reverse Osmosis
http://www.fishsupply.com/cgi-bin/f2/common/store.cgi?dbname=f2&mode=item&path=top/S/SV/SVFKM-00200

I plan on getting 20 lbs of live rock to start with (do I really need more right away)?

I will use sand as my substrate I am thinking about 4 inches of it.

I have well water.

I would like to purchase decent equipment so my Octopuss will be happy.

Please give me any suggestions on the products listed.

I am new to salt water setups.
Thanks

cat32
 

Colin

TONMO Supporter
Supporter
Joined
Nov 14, 2002
Messages
3,986
#2
hi Cat, welcome to Tonmo.com :)

well i havnt used any of those products but these days it is pretty much of a muchness, they are not any really bad products for aquariums anymore.

But you may have bother making them octo escapeproof if you want to use them as 'hang on back' style.

That's more than enough live rock, you could build up a a cheaper base rock underneath that will be colonised with live stuff quickly.

4" is far too deep for an octopus, just go for a fine layer.. say 1" deep max.

if you are new to SW tanks, treat the octo tank like a reef tank and avoid all chemicals and read up a lot on this forum and any books you can get your hands on.

Just ask if you have more questions :)

Colin
 

Burstsovenergy24

Larger Pacific Striped Octopus
Supporter
Joined
Jul 31, 2003
Messages
1,312
#3
Hey Cat32!

Yeah those Hang-On-back filters arent very good for an octo. What I would do is what I am doing. Build this. Get this. Get 2 of these (one for the skimmer and the other for the Wet-Dry Filter.). And get an overflow box. If you cant find a place to buy the RO/DI water from you might need to get that RO unit.


Jesse
 

cat32

Hatchling
Registered
Joined
Jan 5, 2004
Messages
2
#4
Is that all I need then besides the sand and live rock?

My other concern is that I have well water all my water goes through a water softner. I want to get a RO/DI unit, but is this going to make my water pure enough. Do I need to do anything else to my waer if I run it through a RO/DI until?

Thanks for all the help.
Cat32
 

Members online

No members online now.

Forum statistics

Threads
19,432
Messages
202,287
Members
8,321
Latest member
miamibeachsteve

Monty Awards

TONMOCON IV (2011): Terri
TONMOCON V (2013): Jean
TONMOCON VI (2015): Taollan
TONMOCON VII (2018): ekocak

About the Monty Awards
Top