• Looking to buy a cephalopod? Check out Tomh's Cephs Forum, and this post in particular shares important info about our policies as it relates to responsible ceph-keeping.

How to buy an octopus and keep it happy and healthy. Tell me everything !!!

Hello,
I am a Biology teacher who is looking to set up a tank with one specimen octopus. Can you share with me the species you have kept?

Their life expectancy,

nitrate amonia toleration,

toys they like,

anemone, coral or other environmental factors they enjoy.

What not to do or what to look out for.

Preferable equipment that works better with them.

Acclimation tips and times.

preferred food

preferred treats

Can they live with fish? If so will they eat them?

I will be setting up the aquarium (about 90 gallon) next month, and I expect to add the octopus in early September or late August.

:notworth:

Thank you so much for all the help. I want to make sure I know a ton about the little guy before I add him or her!

:welcome: to TONMO!

For starters, I recommend you start with the ceph care articles under the ARTICLES tab at the top of the page, and then ask further questions...

Thanks,
I just finished reading that. It covered the basics but I would like to hear from people who can share their experiences as well.

It sounds like the species Octopus bimaculoides is a managable size but has a longer life. Does anyone know how long it lives? Or how long yours have lived? Pics?

Faaborg -- welcome to the site. Glad you read through all our articles -- now you can move on to the forums! :mrgreen:

Seriously -- folks here are happy to answer your questions, but do make sure you peruse what we offer -- there are TONS of pics in our forums -- just do a search, or browse away!

Sometimes initial navigation is intimidating. Click FORUMS at the top of the page then select Journals and Photos, there should be enough of what you are interested in there to keep you reading for a month or two ;>)