how do a change substrates? | The Octopus News Magazine Online
  • Thanks for visiting! TONMO is the world's greatest online cephalopod enthusiast community, with interactive content going back to May of 2000, and a biennial conference. If you'd like to join in on the fun, become a TONMO member -- it's easy and free. Follow us on Facebook and Twitter for more cephy goodness.

how do a change substrates?

fishkid6692

Vampyroteuthis
Supporter
Joined
Feb 2, 2008
Messages
254
#1
i want to change my substrates but i'm not sure of the best way to do this. attm i have a 3 inch deep sandbed but i want to take it out and add fiji mud and mineral mud. but what is the best way i can do this without clouding the water that much(if thats possible). thanks!
 

DWhatley

Cthulhu
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Sep 4, 2006
Messages
19,997
Location
Gainesville, GA
#2
If you want to remove it slowly (or in sections), I have found using a siphon hose works well for sand but you will be doing major water changes at the time. Slowly scouping with a Solo cup works for the first couple of open inches but you will still muck up the water (not a big deal if you have been stirring the sand bed, if not you stand a chance of exposing dangerous bacteria in the deaper dead areas). I have used a long automotive funnel to replace/add substrate with better luck than just dumping but I don't know if anything will help with mud. Hopefully Thales will have some suggestions but I think he started with an empty (as in no occupants) tank when he created his environment.
 

Brock Fluharty

Haliphron Atlanticus
Registered
Joined
Oct 13, 2005
Messages
511
#3
You could always get one of those plastic square critter keepers, fill it with fiji mud, and place it on the sandbed. That was the octo could access it and make a burrow if it felt the need to.
 

Thales

Colossal Squid
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Jan 22, 2004
Messages
2,998
#4
Can you just cover the sand, maybe in just half the tank? You don't want to lose all that filtration. If you remove everything you will be starting the tank from scratch. If the tank is brand new now - bag up that octo and send it over! :grin:

The muds are going to cloud your tank. A lot. You'll want something like a canister filter with a pleated cartridge to filter out the fines - without it, you tank may be cloudy for days.

Brocks idea is great too - thought the occy will prolly set up shop right behind the critter keeper or between the keeper and the tank wall.
 

fishkid6692

Vampyroteuthis
Supporter
Joined
Feb 2, 2008
Messages
254
#5
the tank has been up for about 5 months. she seems to burrow in the sand fine for now. i think i might use brocks idea or put it in the back corner of the tank where theres not as much flow. hopefully that will help with the cloudiness. thanks!
 

Members online

Monty Awards

TONMOCON IV: Terri
TONMOCON V: Jean
TONMOCON VI: Taollan
TONMOCON VII: ekocak

About the Monty Awards