• Looking to buy a cephalopod? Check out Tomh's Cephs Forum, and this post in particular shares important info about our policies as it relates to responsible ceph-keeping.

Flaky Nautilus Shell?

Does anyone have experience with their nautilus having their shell "flake?" The "flakes" are very thin, translucent pieces that peel off on the lateral sides of the shell. I've scrubbed it lightly with a baby toothbrush once but it has started to flake again. Is this normal or something I should worry about?

I am a novice with nautilus and am not qualified to give advice but I will mention what I experienced with my sole animal.

I saw the flakes with some of the new shell extension when Zilch first arrives. At that time the edge had the famous black lines at the edge. I stopped seeing it as the shell grew with no more black lines. Unfortunately, I don't know if this is normal or part of the issues with keeping them in captivity. The black lines appear on photos of both shells and in situ animals. They are reported to be an expected event on captive animals, occuring in varying places as the shell grows (some thoughts, without confirmation suggest overfeeding may result in the shell having difficulty keeping up with the animal's growth). The black is not a good sign and may be some kind of healing property as it is also on damaged areas of wild animal (perhaps like a waterproof clue or caulk) but does not seem to be a major life threatening issue. I also noticed that the new growth was more pearly than the existing shell and don't know if this is significant.

@DWhatley , did you say that your nautilus did not have black shell growth in captivity?

@iammegangreen , can you post any photos? Depending on age, juveniles have a thin film on the periostracum that flakes off in captivity. It may appear clear to yellow on the shell.