Final Octo Tattoo Drawings

Discussion in 'Cephalopod Journals' started by Keith, Sep 8, 2008.

1. Keith

Keith Vampyroteuthis Registered

As some of you know, i'm a tattoo artist. I had a guy come to me about a month ago lookin for a tattoo of an octopus. He ended up flakin for a while so I didn't waste my time drawing it. He finally got serious, so after a few sketches I have my final draft. Obviously it's going to look different as a tattoo, and my colored pencils suck for shading, but I wanted to see what you all think. Let me know guys.

[​IMG]

2. cthulhu77

cthulhu77 Titanites Supporter

I like the way you have incorporated the water and the animal, it has a nice sense of flow to it.

3. OB

OB Colossal Squid Staff Member Moderator

I sincerely like the dynamics.

#3    Top
  4. Keith

Thank you very much. He had said he wanted to incorperate some japanese influence into it, and i've always liked the way traditional japanese artists draw the ocean, so I went with it. At first I did it in black and grey, but I think I like it better in color.

5. OB

OB Colossal Squid Staff Member Moderator

I would agree, you may look at the diamonds and maybe change them for something more organic, but that is a taste issue, only.

#5    Top
  6. DWhatley

DWhatley Cthulhu Staff Member Moderator

I am not a fan of Tats but I would be less objectionable to that art work over the unartistic stuff my son has embroidered on his body. If the flow transfers to the skin as it does in the drawing, it is one of the nicest I have seen. I hope you will post it on skin for those of us who are curious about the transfer.

7. Animal Mother

Animal Mother Architeuthis Supporter

I really, really like it. Diamonds, not so much. Otherwise, awesome.

8. Nancy

Nancy Titanites Staff Member Moderator

I like it, too. It's realistic but stylized octopus, and should make a good tattoo.

I, too, don't think the diamonds fit in very well with the rest of the design. Are they really necessary?