Ethics of octopi in captivity?

Discussion in 'Ceph Care Ethics' started by SolidNaza, Jul 23, 2011.

1. SolidNaza

SolidNaza Pygmy Octopus Registered

Hello everyone, this is my very first post on the forum D:

I have absolutely no experience with aquariums but I am starting to read articles to prepare for the eventual ownership of an octopus or a cuttlefish :)

The thing is.... It is well known octopus are intelligent therefore isn't it unethical to keep them in captivity? aren't they always trying to escape their tanks? wouldn't it be like keeping a human in a home but they can never go out?

I REALLY want to own an octopus but these questions keep bothering me, what do you guys think?

Thanks for your input!

2. tonmo

tonmo Titanites Staff Member Webmaster Moderator

Wow - this is a great poll. Great first post!

:welcome:

As many folks on TONMO know, I have no experience with aquariums myself. I'm just a cephalopod fan :smile:.

I have been on both sides of this discussion, as have several members of staff (past and present). It's a tough issue, and in fact will be a topic of discussion at TONMOCON IV; neurobadger will moderate the Ethics Roundtable panel. Hope you can make it!

That's such a tough question and unless you can rationalize it, it is the most compelling reason to be against it, IMO.

I would like a "not sure" option...

Tony

3. CaptFish

CaptFish Colossal Squid Staff Member Moderator

Welcome! great thread!

What are you considering intelligent? Parrots, dogs, cats, primates and pretty much every other farm animal are far more intelligent than an octopus, and all of those are kept in captivity. On the grand scale of things octos really aren't that smart. only when compared to the other animals they are related to do they seem intelligent. compared to their cousin the clam they are geniuses! were as compared to a dolphin they are not so smart.