• Looking to buy a cephalopod? Check out Tomh's Cephs Forum, and this post in particular shares important info about our policies as it relates to responsible ceph-keeping.

early stages of looking to get my own ceph friend

tristan

Hatchling
Registered
hey, im new to this thread... quite bio on me, im 15 years old. iv been reading up on this site for quit a while now but just recently took to the forms. iv always had a love for animals. birds cats dogs or even fish.

my uncle (who is a wildlife expert(and has had severl exotic marine animals) and i wish to get an octopus.
i feel with the proper knowlage ill do a great job taking care of a ceph.

i want to be as prepaired as possible so i do not plan on even getting the tank for quite some time the more info the better.

as of right now im building a "shopping list"

im wondering..

ceph___
what sub species is the best for beging?-i preffer small

male or female?

young but how young?

please list some pro's and con's

tank___
25gal?
50gal? iv read this is an approprite size
75 gal?

glass or acrlyic( is there any mojor difference?)

equiptment___

from what i have read i need aproximently 2-3 times the size of the skimmer filter ect.for the tank im getting?

what do you think ill need?
what size?
any specific brands?

please guys, help me out im really looking to gather as much info from the thread

i dont care if your respond is a simple link but and info is greatly appreciated

thanks!