Cuttlefish help

Discussion in 'Cuttlefish Care' started by Mark Forster, Apr 14, 2012.

1. Mark Forster

Mark Forster Cuttlefish Registered

Looks like your cuttles are doing great. Can you help me? I have tried three times to get hatched cuttles to eat but never do and they die within a week. Got one one my nano right now and 4 in eggs. Want to be able to get them to eat. Using live mysid and live brine. Thanks

2. cuttlegirl

cuttlegirl Colossal Squid Supporter Registered

How big is your nano? Please, please do not offer them live brine. It is best not to have food available all day long for the cuttles. Offer mysids a few times a day.

When your other cuttlefish hatched, did they still have a yolk sac attached to the front of their tentacles? What are the parameters of your tank?

3. Mark Forster

Cuttlefish help

Hi there,
    I'm new to the cuttlefish craze. I'm having a problem keeping them alive. I have eggs, they hatch, and die soon afterwards (usually within two weeks). I have live brine and mysis for them to eat but can't figure out what the problem is. Got any advice? Thanks

4. Mark Forster

You should be already attempting to feed frozen mysis. They will eat is when coached to break them of the need for live mysis.

5. CaptFish

CaptFish Colossal Squid Staff Member Moderator

Mark i moved all your posts to their own thread. You should get a better response this way.

DWhatley likes this.
  6. Mark Forster

Cuttlefish help

I have the eggs in a hatchery in a 15 gallon nano. No the ones that hatch didn't have a recognizable yolk sac attached. Seems I could see only their tantacles with a magnifying glass.

I attempt to only feed with mysis. The brine are to keep the live mysis from eating each other.

Can you verify your salinity levels in your tank? Ross' article says it should be at 34.5 ppt. Sounds high since fish are supposed to be kept at atound .023-.026 That may be my problem. Advise?