Copper

EightLeggedFreak

O. bimaculoides
Registered
Joined
Apr 18, 2004
Messages
58
Reaction score
0
How long does it take to get copper out of a 75 gallon tank? I added it a week ago to sure a fish. I did a 50% water change today and i added activated carbon and a copper sponge that is supposed to absorb it all. I should say how long would you wait before adding an octopus? :yuck:
 

NickA5582

Sepia elegans
Registered
Joined
Aug 6, 2003
Messages
863
Reaction score
0
I think the only way to completely remove copper from a tank is to stip the silicon off and replace it. :(
 

EightLeggedFreak

O. bimaculoides
Registered
Joined
Apr 18, 2004
Messages
58
Reaction score
0
there's no way im about to drain all that water first of all, and second of all theirs no way im gonna trust a silicon job by me. Thats all i need is 80 gallons of salt water all over my second story. You really dont think their is any other way? i have two crabs, and a shrimp that have been living in their even when the copper was added. Is their any in expensive test invertebrate i could test the tank with first to make sure???
 

joel_ang

Architeuthis
Registered
Joined
May 15, 2003
Messages
2,028
Reaction score
0
Most invertebrates are sensitive to copper as well, you could try many species but the test kit would be best.
 

EightLeggedFreak

O. bimaculoides
Registered
Joined
Apr 18, 2004
Messages
58
Reaction score
0
Crabs in copper

I have had 2 large crabs in their for about a year, and they have been through a couple copper treatments, and they are still thriving???
 

EightLeggedFreak

O. bimaculoides
Registered
Joined
Apr 18, 2004
Messages
58
Reaction score
0
copper

sea cure copper treatment, one drop per gallon

I have just talked to one of my buddies that works at a zoo maintaining aquariums. He said first to never use copper in a tank, (yes now i know) but he then said copper will not leak out of any surface and reform liquid solution unless your Ph drops and then it will. He said as long as you keep a high Ph, and a high salinity then i shouldn't have to worry about copper seaping from existing rocks and the tank. He also suggested that i use Poly Filter pads and those will tell me if i have any copper in my tank at all. Was wondering if the Ph and salinity thing made any sense to the rest of you? Thanks
 

Colin

TONMO Supporter
Registered
Joined
Nov 14, 2002
Messages
3,986
Reaction score
6
i know that buying a new tank is an expensive option but it is the only way to be sure...
 

AK-Dave

Cuttlefish
Registered
Joined
Feb 22, 2003
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
I think (if my poor memory serves me corectly) that the copper binds to another chemical (some form of sulfer perhaps) and the resulting compound in not soluable at a higher Ph. The best place (that I know of) to find the answer to this would probably be on the reefcentral.com forums, specificly the Reef Chemistry forum with Dr. Randy Holmes-Farley or the Ask Dr. Ron forum with Dr. Ron Shimek. Dr. Holmes-Farley is of course a chemistry expert and Dr. Ron is an invertebrate zoology and marine ecology expert. I have seen both of these people address the copper issue.
 

Forum statistics

Threads
19,932
Messages
204,142
Members
8,786
Latest member
camcraig

Monty Awards

TONMOCON IV (2011): Terri
TONMOCON V (2013): Jean
TONMOCON VI (2015): Taollan
TONMOCON VII (2018): ekocak

About the Monty Awards
Top