Connecting Tanks

Discussion in 'Octopus Care' started by Tako_Poke, Jul 23, 2006.

  1. Tako_Poke

    Tako_Poke O. vulgaris Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey all,
    I was wondering if anyone has tried to connect two tanks with pvc pipes. I want to connect my octos current tank to a much smaller one where I would put crabs for the octo to crawl through and catch. Has anyone tried somthing like this before? If so Im going to need your help.
     
  2. Nancy

    Nancy Titanites Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    5,584
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Dallas Texas
    Yes, I believe several of our members have connected tanks - I don't remember who has done this or how long ago.

    Have you looked at all the photos in the Tank Owners Database to see if anyone has posted pics of such a tank?

    Nancy
     
  3. Tako_Poke

    Tako_Poke O. vulgaris Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope no pics.
     
  4. DHyslop

    DHyslop Architeuthis Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    3
    I have two feeder tanks hooked into my main system, but I'm using flexible vinyl hose it gives the "flexibility" to add or remove tanks from the system. My plumbing to the sump is all PVC, though.

    Its easiest to hook up each extra tank in the system as another display tank in series. That is, have some flow from the display tank's overflow going into the feeder tank. Have an overflow of some sorts in the feeder tank that flows into the sump or filter.

    Dan
     
  5. Tako_Poke

    Tako_Poke O. vulgaris Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    So what your saying is that it should be set up in a sort of cycle. So the water flows from tank to tank to filter and back. Is that it? It would be insanely hard to build but it sounds cool. Do you have a picture?
     
  6. DHyslop

    DHyslop Architeuthis Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    3
    I don't have any pictures, unfortunately. Its really not any more difficult than planning a normal sump, you just have another tank between them! Since the feeder tank is gravity fed, you just need to have it at a height between the display and the sump. I have my two feeder tanks on a bookshelf next to the tank with movable shelves.

    Dan
     
  7. Thales

    Thales Colossal Squid Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,996
    Likes Received:
    69
    I like to do this by running a powerhead pumping water from the sump or tank (if tank, usually in the overflow) to the 'feeder tank' which is above the sump or tank. The 'feeder tank' then gravity drains back into the sump or tank. Essentially its running two tanks off of one sump.

    I find this easier than the way Dan has done his. :D
     
  8. DHyslop

    DHyslop Architeuthis Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    3
    Fewer pumps = less complex :smile:

    Dan
     
  9. Thales

    Thales Colossal Squid Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,996
    Likes Received:
    69
    Not necessarily. It just means fewer pumps. :smile: Your return line is more complicated than mine.

    In my ceph system I currently have 3 tanks off one sump like I outlined above and have had as many as 5. I can add and remove them at will as each has its own pump.
     
  10. DHyslop

    DHyslop Architeuthis Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    3
    My return isn't that complex, its just a spraybar through a bulkhead to make it octo-proof. What powerheads do you use? I was considering going that route but I was having trouble finding one with a ceramic shaft. Am I being unreasonable about that--ie, is a little metal here and there OK?
     
  11. Thales

    Thales Colossal Squid Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,996
    Likes Received:
    69
    Geerg! I meant overflow, not return! I know its just a tee... :smile:

    I am a big fan of the Maxi Jets. The will pump up 4 or 5 feet and they work forever. I think you are being unreasonable (your word!) about the titanium or ss shaft in most powerheads. Billions of reefers use them all the time. A little of the right metal is ok. :smile:
     
  12. DHyslop

    DHyslop Architeuthis Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hey, I'm very proud of my overflow! The box is completely external, yet is completely octo-proof, redundant, and doesn't rely on siphons!

    I'm paranoid since I caught the #316 stainless screws in my Mag Drive corroding in the tank. If I can get away without it, I will, even if I'm being a bit reactionary :)
     
  13. Paradox

    Paradox Haliphron Atlanticus Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have two extra tanks connected to my tank...And I used BOTH Dan and Richard's methods..

    One powered by a maxijet...and the other powered by an overflow..

    So hah! hehehee
     
  14. Thales

    Thales Colossal Squid Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,996
    Likes Received:
    69
    Don't get me wrong! I love your overflow! There are also those 'aquasystems' tanks that have a 'sump' built into the back of the tank. It took up room in the tank, but it was great if you had a limited footprint.I thought it would be pretty easy to octoproof. There are nanos like that now.

    I have had the same happen with mag drives, but I have never seen a degraded power-head impeller shaft.
     
  15. Thales

    Thales Colossal Squid Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,996
    Likes Received:
    69
    HA!

    I just realized I have done both too! I had an overflow overflow into another tank and so on in a cascade.

    :smile:
     
  16. Illithid

    Illithid Vampyroteuthis Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would think you could/should build a sump.

    You need more filtration anyway and they are easier to maintain while adding water volume. I added a additional tank to my sump to keep feeders, cheato, and aid in water changes. Things are easier when they don't have to be pretty for display and octo proofed, but still give you all the benefits.
     
  17. DHyslop

    DHyslop Architeuthis Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    3
    I think there's a big psychological advantage when building a sump, too. A lot of beginners start out trying to get away with as simple or cheap a setup as possible: all the time people ask if they can put an octo in a 20 gallon tank with a powerfilter! A sump is more complicated, requires more effort and often more money. When you decide to do one you take the whole project a lot more seriously.

    Dan
     
  18. Paradox

    Paradox Haliphron Atlanticus Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ive kept octos in smaller tanks with just a hang on back skimmer and canister, and I cant believe how much maintenance I did! Doing it right with a sump, fuge, and big skimmer allowed me to have the time to actually enjoy the tank!

    It does cost a lot more to start up, but its well worth it in the long run.
     

Share This Page