Can an octopus use a computer?

Discussion in 'Behavior and Intelligence' started by octopower, May 29, 2011.

1. octopower

octopower Larval Mass Registered

With the high intelligence an octopus displays, have any teams attempted some type of test to allow an octopus to use a computer? I realize there might be the need to design a button or control to allow the octopus the ability to interact with it. There must be a way to allow a touch screen (understood it must be waterproof) access for the octopus to interact. And for a simple test, I wondered if a team attempted something yet. I also understand the cost could be a factor, but for an initial touch test, has something been done yet?

Any response would be very much appreciated.

Thank you for your time!

2. tonmo

tonmo Titanites Staff Member Webmaster Moderator

As most TONMOers know I am not a cephalopod expert myself - my job is to provide a good environment for ceph experts (and lovers like me) to get together and evolve. The said, just want to say that I think this is a great idea and I look forward to input from our resident experts! I've not heard of any attempts of this in my 11 years running this site (anniversary tomorrow! :mrgreen:).

3. Terri

Terri Sepia elegans Registered

A fine job you have done!

:band:
    HAPPY ANNIVERSARY TONY!!

4. tonmo

5. octopower

octopower Larval Mass Registered

Thank you for the kind words. Happy anniversary! It will be very interesting to know if any computer interactions with octopuses have been performed or planned. I will continue to research this information as well.

Thanks again!

6. tonmo

The problem of course is associating actions with keyboard play. I could imagine that one could create a modified keyboard (start with say 4 keys) each with different associated behaviors. Key 1 releases some food, Key 2 toggles the tank light, etc.

7. Jean

Jean Colossal Squid Supporter

There are also questions about whether or not an octopus can see a screen properly!