Biology Student with a question

Discussion in 'Octopodidae' started by tlasz24, Mar 20, 2007.

1. tlasz24

tlasz24 Pygmy Octopus Registered

Hello. I'm a sophomore in an advance biology class at my high school. For a project, my teacher wants us to raise and take care of an invertibrate of our choice. It could've been anything from a sea sponge to a fiddler crab, really, as long as it was procured legally.
    I decided on some form of an octopus because frankly, they've always fascinated me.
    Now this puts me in a bit of a pickle because I really know nothing about how to get an octopus, or pricing, or anything of that nature. I need some guidance.
    Here's what I'm looking for:
    -A relatively hardy creature (something that won't die easily while I'm still learning how to care for it)
    -Somewhat small as an adult, but still larger than a golf ball.
    Now, on that, what species should I get, and where would I get it? Also, what tank size is best, what's the best food source and environment? Those kinds of things. A general estimate of total price would be helpful too. Any information you guys could find would be fantastic. Thank you!

2. marinebio_guy

marinebio_guy Vampyroteuthis Registered

Honestly, I think you should choose a different animal :). I think it may be a little difficult for you to get everything you need in what probably is a short period of time. If you still are interested finding a octo will take a while as they are not something most pet stores get. However, if you ask around you might find one that can special order one for you or maybe there is someone on this site that has an extra. Generally they will cost from $40-100 depending on the source and species. As far as species you will probably be wanting a bimaculoides or dwarf caribbean species. But there is a lot that goes into keeping octopus so make sure you know what you are getting into before you start.

3. WhiteKiboko

WhiteKiboko Colossal Squid Supporter Registered