Beginner Tank

Discussion in 'Tank Talk' started by AprylWillis, Mar 6, 2007.

1. AprylWillis

AprylWillis GPO Registered

I guess no one has any suggestions for what plants I should put into my salt water tank to get the system up and running and in peak condition?

I noticed that other posts were being responded to.

I really don't want to have to beg for help.

What kind of light system should I buy for the aquarium? I was using a low-lighting system before for the octopus.

2. tank balla

tank balla Pygmy Octopus Registered

hey i am very new to i am geting me octo on thursday but i will try to help you from what i no from all the info i found i heard that they dont really like light so try to get a low light

3. Danthemarineman

Danthemarineman O. bimaculoides Registered

I have a bunch of plants I could send you.

4. Danthemarineman

3 watts per a gallon

5. Jean

Jean Colossal Squid Supporter

I think part of the problem Apryl, is that not many of us have planted aquariums!

We have Bladder (Giant) kelp Macrocystis pyrifera, Neptunes Necklace Hormosira banksii, Branching velvet weed Codium fragile assorted coralines (not always by choice!) and a few others. BUT we don't generally grow them. We collect parts of plants because we have a few herbivores who can chew plants down to the rocks very quickly indeed!

J

6. tank balla

tank balla Pygmy Octopus Registered

hey you think that you can send me so plants too........new tank

7. Nancy

Nancy Titanites Staff Member Moderator

Dan, have you actually kept any of these plants in your tanks for some time? If so, which ones do well?

Nancy

8. AprylWillis

I understand that a lot of you don't house plants in the aquarium--let alone lighting. I'm sorry for being so impatient. I'm just excited about setting up my tank.

9. Illithid

Illithid Vampyroteuthis Supporter