Advice on a research opportunity

It's that time again. I need advice.

So, as I've stated before, I want to go into cephalopod neuroscience.

Problem is nobody at the university I'm transferring to (which I'm going to for proximity and tuition reasons) works on cephalopods (the likelihood of finding a university where anyone does this anyway is slim; I know the size of the cephalopod research community is small).

Since I'm an undergrad, this is not something I'm excessively worried about, but would it be advisable to outsource my research opportunities to, for example, summer opportunities at institutions that HAVE people working on cephalopods, or should I aim for a longer-term project at this institution on a topic that, while it seems pretty fun (I'll do my darnedest to push for a neuroscience project but the project there is probably gonna be on corals, and while they have a neuroscience department there are maybe two people doing anything I find REMOTELY interesting, it's on vertebrates, and their labs are apparently perpetually full)?

What questions in ceph neuroscience are you interested in most?

It will be easier once you break down your goal to specific questions and then look for the best place to learn the fundamental (and later advanced) theory and techniques to be able to investigate them.

Do not sign up for a project that doesn't keep you from sleeping at night (and doesn't push you to rise early in the morning). That'd be slow death.

If you have to "compromise," make it worthwhile, for example: work on a project that is not ceph related, but you'll get the best training on technique(s) that will allow you to work on a ceph project in the future. Then you can spend a Summer, semester or year in another lab applying that skill towards a ceph neuroscience project.

Good luck!

Well, I've broken it down to a variety of specific questions. Some examples: