• Looking to buy a cephalopod? Check out Tomh's Cephs Forum, and this post in particular shares important info about our policies as it relates to responsible ceph-keeping.

Activated Carbon

Cephdoc

Vampyroteuthis
Registered
I am getting ready to run activated carbon. I have never used this before, and im wondering since i have a full blown reef tank with the Cuttles and Octos, will the carbon suck out and deplete my additives and essential elements i add for the corals? Calcium is on of my biggest concerns, as i couldnt find much on that at all. I just dont want it to deplete it enough to where im adding stuff all the time. I have been adding in moderation, and everything seems great up till my down spell recently, but things are back to normal and im awaiting some eggs. I keep reading it makes the water clearer.. the thing is i already have crystal water, i was wondering what are the true benifits to running the carbon filtration? Besides helping with a inking incident.

I don't keep much in the way of a reef corals (I only have two hard corals and one was inherited all the rest are softies). I run carbon in all the tanks, putting a bag in a filter sock in most, and without it, the water will take on a yellowish cast over time. I only add a small amount of vitamins and calcium to my water change water and find the vitamins have the most impact.

I'm going to run it exactly like you do D, I just don't want it taking all the good I add all the time out. That's what I'm worried about. I have never thought about asking my LFS if he runs carbon. Maybe I should talk to him more about the effects it will have on trace elements. I'm just worried that's all. Also you siphon the gravel everytime you do a water change? Because my cucumber and nassaris snails are doing a great job keeping the sand over turned and clean. Oh and my SS star