• Looking to buy a cephalopod? Check out Tomh's Cephs Forum, and this post in particular shares important info about our policies as it relates to responsible ceph-keeping.

A little help on raising cuttlefish

Kerrick

GPO
Registered
To Thales, and any other Cuttle Experts,

I'm new to these threads but have been lurking quite a while and have been building a real interest in cuttlefish. As I plan on keeping them soon I wanted to ask the expert a few questions... I appoligize if this is long, I will try to keep them in numbered points. :smile:

1. Reading many of the journals I find that there is a very high failure rate in the hobby, but that your most recent attempt at the aquarium seems to have been a fantastic success. What would you attribute this difference to?

2. How important is water quality for S. Bandensis? In reading these journals I think that this may be a cause of some of the high failure rates. It seems salinity, and nitrates need to be right on target(one journal for example had nitrates at 5ppm and all cuttles died). What are the readings at your aquarium?

3. Do you think that the sheer volume of water you work with at the aquarium gives you an advantage. I've read in several of the journals of people not wanting to do water changes in fear of startling the cuttles.

4. Food. I'm assuming you feed almost exclusively live mysis to hatchlings. Several journals artilces suggest amphipods may be an alternative and I am looking into culturing them. I live in North Carolina however and have a local source for colderwater trigger pods. I don't know the exact species but do you think that these are big enough to help supplement live mysis when cuttles are hatchlings? Any other food suggestions?

5. I've seen your older postings from Daisy Hill cuttle farm and was wondering what you attribute the lesser success rate in that attempt as compared to what you've done at the aquarium? (not to say you failed. obviously the scale was different)