Barney

deep8

Pygmy Octopus
Registered
Well,

I have been a long time marine hobbiest and a avid diver. I love the ocean and marine biology. I am a web developer as a real job.

I have several marine and fresh tanks and I house a shark and a cortez stingray along with many other fish and reef tanks with many corals ( I frag corals). I have a medium knowledge base of corals.

With my experience over the years, I have decided to raise an octopus and I love it immensely so far.

barney.JPG

My octo's name is Barney and he is 11 inches from tip to tip. I do not know his age unfortunately. I have a wonderful source for octos so when this one has reached his life span, I will be able to get them very quickly.

I have a 39 gallon tank with a refugium attached on the outside to increase filtration and easy access to double carbon with a very large protein skimmer. I build all of my own stuff and I do all of my own calculations of what is needed for water flow and waste management.

I introduced Barney to the tank (which has been used for raising other fish to adults and moved to larger tanks) Last Friday. He ate the first day on fiddler crabs, then next day he ate the same and even a piece of silverside handed to him.

Barney has not inked 1 time and infact I have found the following.

Barney was put into the tank and the lights were kept off for 3 hours, then a gradual lighting increase as the day went on. He was not all that active due to the stress of being shipped from California to Tennessee, however, he was very easy to aclimate. 4 hours until he came out to explore and immediately began to eat fiddlers.